IET Faraday Challenge Sarawak State Finale 2019

Swinburne Sarawak IET On Campus had successfully carried out the first IET Faraday Challenge Day Sarawak State. The Faraday Challenge is a STEM-based Competition organized globally by The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), aiming to give students the opportunity to research, design and develop solutions to engineering problems. It took place on the 22nd June 2019. The challenge was Smarter Homes Smarter Building Smarter Living.

SSIET was honoured to invite YBhg. Datu William Patrick Nyigor from Ministry of Education, Science and Technological Research (MESTR), YBrs. Dr. Les Met, Head of Academic Management Sector, Datin Kasmah bt Abu Bakar, from Pusat STEM Negara Professor Su Hieng Tiong, Professor & Dean, Faculty of Engineering, Computing and Science of Swinburne University of Technology and Encik Raymond Maurice ak Stephan Bujang, Assistant Director of Jabatan Pelajaran Negeri Sarawak.

The judges of the event were Mr Tia Swee Hua, Global Senior Group Manager in R&D of X-FAB Sarawak Sdn. Bhd. Mr Chai Choung Jung, Senior Engineer of Sarawak Energy Berhad and Madam Patricia Renyam, from SAINS Sarawak. From Swinburne University of Technology, Associate Professor IR Dr. Sim Kwan Yong, Associate Professor & Head of School of Engineering, Dr. Lai Chean Hung, Discipline Leader of BEng (Hons) R&M and Professor Su Hieng Tiong.

A total of 20 Secondary Schools from different district of Sarawak such as:

  1. Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Jalan Arang,

  2. Sekolah Menengah Sains Kuching,

  3. Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Kidurong,

  4. Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Tun Abdul Razak,

  5. Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Pending,

  6. Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Lake,

  7. Sekolah Menengah KebangsaanTinggi Kuching,

  8. Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Chung Hua Miri,

  9. Sekolah Menengah Lodge,

  10. Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Bako,

  11. Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan St Teresa,

  12. Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Green Road,

  13. Sekolah Menengah Teknik Sejingkat,

  14. Lodge International,

  15. Sekolah Menengah Sains Kuching Utara,

  16. Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Datuk Patinggi Haji Abdul Gapor,

  17. Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Merbau Miri,

  18. Kolej Dpah Abdillah,

  19. Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Batu Lintang,

  20. Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Gedong, Simunjan,

participated in the event.

Students were tasked to design their own system using Arduino Maker Uno. Their idea must include an electrical circuit by purchasing their components through FaradayPay mobile application, an E-payment app designed by Peter Ling Ting Rang which keeps track of all the Faraday Shop transactions. Teams had 4 minutes to pitch their ideas to the judges and 3 minutes Q&A session. They were judged on the elements such as creativity, innovation and pitching skills.

This year’s winning team from SMK Batu Lintang, Kuching, concentrated on the water level sensor which detects flood. The two runners up teams were from SMK Bako; and SMK Chung Hua Miri.

Students registering themselves and allocating themselves to their tables based on their group number.
Students getting ready for the competition by downloading the FaradayPay mobile application.
Students purchasing items using FaradayPay mobile application at the booth.
Students working on their ideas.
Group photo

Prepared by,

Nathalie Teng Ai Lin